WHITE HOUSE KITCHEN GARDEN


Happy September 1st, everybody. Summer is wrapping up and it’s time to start setting the foundations for a great Spring. Yesterday I laid some really lousy looking sod at the top of the slope where the cars park in an effort to curb the erosion causing rain water run-off. I hope it helps. I thought that if I finish my homework in time (I’m learning Oracle 11g) I would get out there and do a little liming of the grass. I’ve never done that before. I bought a few bags of lime yesterday and I noticed that the bag said it would cover 5,000 square feet. I thought, “How can a small bag like that cover an area as large as that?” Then I accidentally found out.

I sometimes feel the need to advise President Obama on how to handle certain matters, or just offer my opinion on things. This morning was one of those times. So I called the comments line (202)456-1111 and the line was busy. I called it five more times and decided it was out-of-order. So I called the switchboard and asked if I could leave a message for the President with them. They turned me over the comment line but this time I was on hold. While on hold, I clicked around the White House website, and I came across a little video about the White House Kitchen Garden. I noticed they were putting more than one thing in their lime spreader. So that’s the answer. Spread lime
and something else at the same time and that makes it go further. All I need to know now is what else to put in there. If anyone reading this knows what to augment the lime with, please leave a comment. I need all the help I can get.

The White House gardener was spreading potash and crab meal but I don’t know what time of year that was and also, this was for a vegetable garden rather than a lawn. It’s a pretty cool little video though and I’m sharing it with you now.

I don’t know about you, but I feel inspired to grow a vegetable garden now. I have to look into this further. I’m very patriotic.

In case you’re wondering, I ended up sending the President my message electronically.

Leave a Reply

